The new Cardiff Dragons Committee

Cardiff Dragons FC celebrated its 5th Anniversary on Saturday 13th July and was joined by members old and new at the Cardiff City FC House of Sport for a commemorative football match. The Dragons were established as Wales’ first and only gay friendly football team in 2008 and have grown in numbers since then, attracting players from the Cardiff, Valleys, Swansea and Bristol areas. This growth has allowed the club to compete in the Gay Football Supporter’s Club (GFSN) National and South West Leagues.

The celebrations continued with the Dragon’s 5th AGM and Awards Evening at which a new committee was elected:

Chairperson: Ali Mahoney

Secretary: Jay Bragg

Treasurer: James Sherman

Football Manager: Murray Harvey

Press & Marketing: Steffan Jones

Welfare & Social: Amy Johnson

For the first time in its five-year history, the Dragons have appointed a female Chairperson, demonstrating that the club is committed to full equality in all areas of the game, not just on the pitch. To continue the 5th Anniversary celebrations, the club is hosting an open invitation Summer 5-a-side tournament on Sunday 28th July at Powerleague Cardiff.

For further information about the club or summer tournament, contact Jay Bragg at Cardiff Dragons (

Dragons 5th Anniversary